top of page
Who we are

The lead Investigators for NASH are Professor Tony Marson and Professor Mike Pearson of the University of Liverpool. 

Professor Marson has been a consultant neurologist at The Walton Centre since 2003 and has a specialist interest in epilepsy. He leads the Liverpool Epilepsy Research Group and is also Director of the UK Epilepsy Research Network; Deputy Director of the MRC North West Hub for Trials Methodology Research; Coordinating Editor of the Cochrane Epilepsy Group; board member of the European Academy of Neurology; Liverpool Health Partners Director of Research Programmes; Chief Investigator of the SANAD II trial, as well as leading NASH. 

Mike Pearson is an honorary professor of clinical evaluation and set up (and was Director of) The Clinical Effectiveness and Evaluation Unit (CEEu) of the Royal College of Physicians. Over a decade the CEEu had an established track record instituting a series of national audits including myocardial infarction, stroke, carotid endarterectomy, evidence based prescribing, COPD, lung cancer, continence, inflammatory bowel disease, blood transfusion, and palliative care. Each of these has been successful and has achieved national coverage in excess of most other audits in the UK and beyond. 


Other members of the NASH3 steering committee are: 

  • Mark Buchanan (Consultant in Emergency Medicine, Wirral  University Teaching Hospitals, and Royal College of Emergency Medicine) 

  • Pete Dixon (Researcher, University of Liverpool) 

  • Rob Konstant-Hambling (Analytical team, GIRFT) 

  • Adam Noble (Senior Lecturer, University of Liverpool) 

  • Angie Pullen (Director of Epilepsy Services, Epilepsy Action) 

  • Julie Riley (Divisional Director Neurology, Walton Centre) 

  • Ley Sander (Medical Director, Epilepsy Society)

  • Claire Taylor (University of Liverpool) (Study Coordinator)  

  • Adrian Williams (Professor of Clinical Neurology, University Hospitals Birmingham, Senior Clinical Advisor to GIRFT) 

bottom of page